About Us

The Henry F. Taylor Nanofabrication Facility has its roots in the fabrication facilities developed over the years within the Solid State Group of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department. The Nanofabrication Facility is located on the 7th floor of the Jack E. Brown Building and has over 4000 square feet of class 100/1000 cleanroom space. The ECE department is currently building, operating, and maintaining the facility in conjunction with key faculty within the department who have chosen to partner in this effort through cost-sharing.

The goal is for the facility to become a University-wide shared facility. To meet this goal, we have a phased approach. The first phase is a building phase whereby we focus on bringing up new fabrication capability and restrict access to those who are directly supporting this effort. In the second phase, we will open the facility to users outside of the ECE department on a user-fee basis. The first phase (Phase I) requires substantial resources in capital equipment, building renovations and upgrades, and technical staff support. The College of Engineering, through the Permanent University Fund, has provided for the acquisition of four new pieces of equipment: a Reactive Ion Etcher, a Plasma-Enhanced Chemical Vapor Deposition system, an Electron Beam Evaporation system and a Karl Suss MA6 Mask Aligner. To bring this equipment online, facility renovations are required. The Nanofabrication Facility has received additional support for physical plant renovations through the University. These renovations are scheduled to take place in the Fall 2007 through early 2008. Additional staff support and operating budget are needed to transition the facility to the second phase (Phase II). If you would like to support this effort by helping expand our capabilities and expedite the transition to the second phase, please contact the director.


Prof. Christi Madsen
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Room 728 JEB
Mailstop 3128 TAMU
College Station, TX 77843
Phone: (979) 845-4935, Fax: (979) 845-6259
Email: cmadsen@ece.tamu.edu

Technical Lab Coordinator

Mr. Robert Atkins
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Room 734 JEB
Mailstop 3128 TAMU
College Station, TX 77843
Phone: (979) 845-7500, Fax: (979) 845-6259
Email: atkins@ece.tamu.edu

Technical Staff

Mr. Jim Gardner
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Room 734 JEB
Mailstop 3128 TAMU
College Station, TX 77843
Phone: (979) 845-4936, Fax: (979) 845-6259
Email: gardner@ece.tamu.edu

Steering Committee

Christi Madsen, Ohannes Eknoyan, Robert Atkins, Fred Strieter, and Theresa Maldonado


Faculty Committee

Mosong Cheng, Xing Cheng, Ohannes Eknoyan, Arum Han, Christi Madsen, Haiyan Wang, Jun Zou


Industrial Advisory Board

To be named.


Nanofabrication Facility named in honor of ...

Henry F. Taylor


Henry F. Taylor, Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Texas A&M University, was born in Ft. Worth, Texas. He attended Rice University in Houston, Texas and received the B.A., M.A., and Ph.D. degrees in 1962, 1965, and 1967, respectively, all in Physics. He was employed as a Research Physicist at the Naval Ocean Systems Center (formerly the Naval Electronics Laboratory Center) in San Diego, CA from 1967 to 1978. From 1978 to 1980 he was employed by Rockwell International in Thousand Oaks, CA, where he was Principal Scientist of the Optoelectronics Department of the Microelectronics Research and Development Center. From 1980 to 1985 he was Head of the Optical Techniques Branch of the Naval Research Laboratory in Washington, DC.

He joined the Electrical Engineering faculty at Texas A&M University as a Professor of Electrical Engineering and Director of the Institute for Solid State Electronics in November 1985. Since 1988 he has held the Irma Runyon Chair in Electrical Engineering. During the summer of 1990, he was a Visiting Scientist at Nippon Telegraph and Telephone’s Opto-Electronics Laboratory in Ibaraki Prefecture, Japan. In 1994 he was appointed a Member of the Board of Directors of Fiber Dynamics, (formerly FFPI Industries) of Bryan, Texas. In 2001, he was promoted to the position of Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering at Texas A&M University.

Taylor’s principal research interests have been in the fields of fiber optics, integrated optics, and diode laser applications. He has co-authored more than 300 journal articles and conference presentations and held 40 U.S. patents. He was awarded a Civil Service Commission/Navy fellowship to study Systems Analysis at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology during 1971-72. He also received the Naval Electronics Laboratory Center Annual Science Achievement Award in 1974, the American Society of Naval Engineers’ Solberg Award for Applied Research in 1975, and the Texas A&M Association of Former Students Award For Excellence in Research in 1991. Since joining the Texas A&M faculty in 1985, he has served as Chairman of the Graduate Research Committee for 36 students receiving Ph. D. degrees and 32 students receiving M. S. degrees in Electrical Engineering. Henry F. Taylor was a Fellow of the IEEE and of OSA, a Life Member of the American Society of Naval Engineers.

Equity, fairness, and plain human decency were dear to Henry’s heart. He was a deep thinker with unwavering convictions, a formidable and respected scientist. His diligence was a key factor in his success and an inspiration to his students and colleagues. His legacy lives on.


Back to top